Log in | Subscribe

Emission Standards

India: Fuel Economy Standards for Light-Duty Passenger Vehicles

The fuel economy standards notified in January 2014 apply to petrol, diesel, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) and compressed natural gas (CNG) passenger vehicles with up to nine seats including driver’s seat and with a GVW of 3500 kg or less.

The standard is based on a Corporate Average Fuel Consumption (CAFC) system. The fuel consumption standard for a given manufacturer depends on the weighted average unladen mass (W) of all vehicles sold by that manufacturer as summarized in Table 1.

Table 1
Passenger vehicle petrol equivalent fuel consumption standards, L/100 km
YearTestFuel Consumption
Fiscal years 2016-17 to 2020-21NEDC0.0024 × (W – 1037) + 5.4922
Fiscal year 2021-22 onwardsNEDC0.002 × (W – 1145) + 4.7694

A vehicle’s fuel consumption is determined by multiplying the CO2 (g/km) measured over the NEDC emission test cycle by a factor dependent on the vehicle’s fuel type. For vehicles using diesel, LPG or CNG, another factor is then used to convert to petrol equivalent fuel consumption [3037].